Adelaide Motorcycle Awards


Adelaide-Motorcycle-Awards-2014pic1250The Irish Motorcyclist of 2012 Ryan Farquhar has launched the search for the winners of this year’s Adelaide Motorcycle Awards. The annual gala event, which has become the hottest date in the biking calendar, will be staged at the Ramada Plaza Hotel in Belfast on January 17, 2014.

Once again organisers have teamed up with the Enkalon Motorcycle Club, which means the overall champion will be presented with the iconic Joey Dunlop trophy.

Farquhar, who quit the sport last season after a star-studded, record breaking career said:

“I was thrilled to win last year – and it came as a massive surprise. It’s amazing to see the famous names on the trophy and to join them again was an absolute honour. When I was cleaning the trophy before handing it back this morning it brought a tear to me eye.

I am sad I’ll never get another chance to win the award, but also delighted to have been invited onto the judging panel this year. It’s going to be a tough job as so many riders have had exceptional seasons!”

Motorcycle insurance specialist Adelaide Insurance Services are proud to be the title sponsor of these awards. Sam Geddis, Director of Adelaide said:

“The chequered flag comes down on another fantastic motorcycle season and local riders have yet again excelled on the world and local scenes. Adelaide’s continuous dedication to the motorcycling fraternity and our constant striving to provide the best customer service possible was rewarded by winning the Auto Express Driver Power Survey 2013. Adelaide was voted Number One for value for money, beating all other companies in the UK. Once again we look forward to celebrating another outstanding year come January 17.”

The Adelaide Irish Motorcyclist of the Year, in association with Enkalon, is the longest standing motorcycle accolade and voted for by the public. Club Chairman David Weir is delighted to join forces once again with Adelaide event organisers. He said:

“The Enkalon Trophy was first presented back in 1978 to Tom Herron, and since then there has been an illustrious roll of honour with winners like World Champions Joey Dunlop and Brian Reid, as well as Phillip McCallen, Jeremy McWilliams and Robert Dunlop to name but a few. We are thrilled to renew our partnership which has made it possible for our awards to be showcased at this very prestigious event.”

In all more than a dozen awards, decided by a public vote and expert panel of judges chaired by former British Champion Adrian Coates, will be presented. The black tie event will welcome some of the biggest names in the sport, and will once again be hosted by BBC’s Jackie Fullerton.

Details of how to vote will be announced at the start of November.

Anyone wishing to purchase tickets can email or phone 07584058810.

Share Button

Comments Will No Longer Be Posted

Speak Your Mind