Adelaide Motorcycle Awards

Alastair Seeley Launches Adelaide Motorcycle Awards

Irish Motorcyclist of the Year Alastair Seeley has launched the search for the winners of this year’s Adelaide Motorcycle Awards. The annual gala event, which has become one of the unmissable dates in the biking calendar, will be staged at the Ramada Plaza Hotel in Belfast on January 18 2013.

Once again organisers have teamed up with the Enkalon Motorcycle Club, which means the overall champion will be presented with the iconic Joey Dunlop trophy.

Seeley, who is considering his options and a switch of teams to compete in the British Supersport Championship next season, said:

“It was great to win last year simply because when you see the names on the trophy they have all been the best, and to join them was an absolute honour. Having had a difficult season I don’t think I’ll figure in the results this time around, but to have my name on the magnificent trophy once is a great achievement”

Motorcycle insurance specialist Adelaide Insurance Services are proud to be the title sponsor of these awards. Sam Geddis, founder and Director of Adelaide said:

“The chequered flag comes down on another testing motorcycle season and local riders have yet again excelled on the world and local scenes. Adelaide’s continuous dedication to the motorcycling fraternity and our constant striving to provide the best customer service possible was rewarded by being voted the UK’s No.1 insurer for Value for Money in the Auto Express Driver Power 2012 survey, beating all the UK’s best known brands. Once again we look forward to celebrating another outstanding year come January 18.”

The Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year now in association with Adelaide Insurance is the longest standing motorcycle accolade and voted for by the public. Club Chairman David Weir is delighted to join forces with Adelaide event organisers Stephen Watson and Terry Smyth.

“The Enkalon Trophy was first presented back in 1978 to Tom Herron, and since then there has been an illustrious roll of honour with winners like World Champions Joey Dunlop and Brian Reid, as well as Phillip McCallen, Jeremy McWilliams and Robert Dunlop to name but a few. We are thrilled to renew our partnership which has made it possible for our awards to be showcased at this very prestigious event”

In all more than a dozen awards, decided by a public vote and expert panel of judges chaired by former British Champion Adrian Coates, will be presented.

Details of how to vote will be announced next week.

The black tie event will once again be hosted by BBC’s Jackie Fullerton.


Anyone wishing to purchase tickets can email or phone 07584058810

There’s also a special video promotion on the TV section on the Adelaide website at:

Adelaide Motorcycle Awards 2013 Launch


Share Button

Speak Your Mind